- One quick text message can take your attention for 4.2 seconds. That’s long enough to drive 100 yards – the full length of a football field – without looking at the road.
- Using a phone while driving has been against the law in Oregon since 2010. The Oregon DMV reports 9,607 convictions for the violation, just from January 1 – August 28, 2014.
- The fine for violating the law is now $160 minimum, and as much as $500.
It’s dangerous. It’s against the law. It’s very expensive to get caught—either by the police, or because you cause a distracted driving crash.
But none of these facts are as powerful as these 30-second public service announcements from the Department of Transportation.
Share these videos—and remind the people you care about that distracted driving kills.
You might also be interested in …