It’s a sad fact that more children ages 12 and under die from motor vehicle crashes than from any other cause.
In honor of Child Passenger Safety Week, Oregon parents and caregivers can have child car seats checked by Certified Child Passenger Safety Technicians. The free inspection will check seats for damages and recalls, and for proper installation and use.
Child Passenger Safety Week car seat check-up locations in Oregon:
Beaverton : September 22, ACTS Oregon
Heppner : September 22, Safe Kids Umatilla Morrow
La Grande : September 22, Safe Kids Union County
Madras : September 20, ACTS Oregon
Medford : September 22, Safe Kids Rogue Valley
Milwaukie : September 22, Safe Kids Portland Metro
Prineville : September 19, ACTS Oregon
Roseburg : September 21, Safe Kids Oregon
St. Helens : September 22, Safe Kids Columbia County
Tualatin : September 22, Safe Kids Washington County
Warrenton : September 22, Safe Kids North Coast
See the Alliance for Community Traffic Safety calendar for additional information.
Oregon law on child restraints and car seats states that:
- Infants under 1 year old OR who weigh less than 20 pounds must ride in a baby car sear facing the rear of the vehicle
- Children who weigh less than 40 pounds AND are under 8 years old must be restrained in an approved child safety seat
- Child passengers over 40 pounds must ride restrained in a car booster seat until they are 4’9″ tall, OR 8 years of age.
Safe Kids Oregon is part of a nationwide network working to prevent unintentional injuries to children. If you or someone you know needs help getting a safe car seat, there are car seat assistance programs available in Multnomah County, Washington County and Clackamas County.